THE SCHOOL BOARD OF ESCAMBIA COUNTY, FLORIDA

MINUTES, NOVEMBER 20, 2018

The School Board of Escambia County, Florida, convened for an Installation Ceremony and Organizational Meeting at 9:00 a.m., in Room 160, at the J.E. Hall Educational Services Center, 30 East Texar Drive, Pensacola, Florida, with the following present:

Boar	d Mem	bers:	Mr Dr. Mr	. Kevin . Paul F Laura I s. Patric . Bill Sl	etsko Dortc via Hi	(Distr h Edle ghtow	rict II) er (Dis er (D) strict istric	III)
a 1	1.5	1.0	1.0			DISC			***

School Board General Counsel:Mrs. Donna Sessions WatersSuperintendent of Schools:Mr. Malcolm Thomas

Meeting advertised in the Pensacola News Journal on November 1, 2018 - Legal No. 3230220

NOTE: Minutes from this session have been prepared according to *Roberts Rules of Order, Newly Revised*. Video from this session is available at <u>http://escambiacountysdfl.swagit.com/play/11202018-1262</u>

I. WELCOME/CALL TO ORDER

Mrs. Patricia Hightower, School Board Member, District IV, welcomed the assembly. She called the Installation Ceremony to order at 9:02 a.m.

II. INVOCATION & PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Mr. Bill Slayton, School Board Member, District V, asked everyone to join in a moment of silent reflection, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag.

III. INSTALLATION & REMARKS

Mr. Kevin Adams, joined by his wife Mrs. Vickey Adams, was reinstalled as School Board Member for District I. Elder Edward G. Morgan of Pleasant Home Primitive Baptist Church in Pensacola, Florida, administered the oath of office.

Mr. Paul Fetsko, joined by his wife, Mrs. Kathy Fetsko, was installed as School Board Member for District II. Father Jim Dane, Pastor of the St. Thomas by the Sea in Orange Beach, Alabama, administered the oath of office.

Dr. Laura Dortch Edler, was installed as School Board Member for District III. The Next Generation administered the oath of office.

IV. ORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD (Pursuant to Florida Statutes, Section 1001.371)

NOTE: The Superintendent served as Chair for the organization segment of this meeting, which began at 9:28 a.m. Motion by Mr. Slayton, seconded by Mr. Adams, to adopt the portion of this agenda outlining the organization proceedings, carried unanimously.

A. Election of Chairman for 2018-2019

Mr. Slayton nominated Mrs. Patricia Hightower, School Board Member for District IV, to serve as Chairman for 2018-2019. There being no further nominations, the Superintendent called for the vote. The nomination of Mrs. Hightower to serve as Chairman for 2018-2019 carried unanimously.

B. Election of Vice Chairman for 2018-2019

Mrs. Hightower nominated Mr. Bill Slayton, School Board Member for District V, to serve as Vice Chairman for 2018-2019. There being no further nominations, the Superintendent called for the vote. The nomination of Mr. Slayton to serve as Vice Chairman for 2018-2019 carried unanimously.

C. Designation of Date, Time, and Location of Regular Monthly Workshop and Meeting

Motion was made by Mr. Slayton and seconded by Mr. Adams, to maintain the current schedule of monthly workshops and meetings, with:

- Regular Meetings on the third Tuesday of each month, beginning at 5:30 p.m.;
- Special Workshops (for the purpose of open discussion and presentations) on the Thursday prior to the Regular Meeting, beginning at 3:00 p.m.; and
- Regular Workshops on the Friday prior to the Regular Meeting, beginning at 9:00 a.m.

Unless otherwise advertised, each monthly workshop and meeting would be held in Room 160, at the J.E. Hall Educational Services Center.

Motion to maintain the current schedule of monthly workshops and meetings carried unanimously.

As mentioned during the November 8, 2018 Special Workshop, the School Board needed to schedule a presentation from the Florida School Boards Association (FSBA) on the process for transitioning from an elected to appointed superintendent. School Board Members agreed that the presentation could occur during the already scheduled January 11, 2018 Special Workshop, but the time should be moved from 3:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. to allow ample opportunity for the presentation and any follow-up discussion thereafter.

D. Appointment of Parliamentarian

Motion by Mrs. Hightower, seconded by Mr. Fetsko, to appoint the School Board General Counsel, Mrs. Donna Session Waters as Parliamentarian, carried unanimously.

E. Selection of Parliamentary Procedure

Motion was made by Mr. Fetsko and seconded by Mrs. Hightower, to designate the latest version of *Robert's Rules of Order Newly Revised* as the parliamentary procedure to be followed for the conduct of official business of the School Board. Motion carried unanimously.

V. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, this session adjourned at 9:35 a.m.

Attest:

Approved:

Superintendent

Chair